Lights timing out on final

Morne

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Morne
This happened awhile ago, but I thought I'd pose the question anyways:

Back when I was a student pilot my CFI and I were doing some night flying (maybe the night XC). We went to an uncontrolled field and keyed up the pilot controlled lighting. After landing and getting clear, we dug out the airport diagram and stared at it under the lights for a minute to figure out where we needed to taxi. Finally got that straight and meandered over. The whole time we're discussing some of the oral exam questions. Finally take off and fly the pattern. Just as I turn final...

THE LIGHTS SUDDENLY GO OUT

It was a touch disconcerting and my first instinct was to go around. My CFI just quickly clicked the mic 7 times and everything reappeared (right where it was supposed to be).

If this happened to you (solo) today, what would you do?

I think I'd execute the go around and do my 7 clicks once I returned to pattern altitude.

I key up on pattern entry or at the final approach fix, and the lights have always stayed on long enough for me.

When using pilot controlled lighting, I was in the habit of clicking the mic 5 or 7 times as I was on Base leg and made my position call. Just in case :)

Most lights at uncontrolled fields are on a timer - not sure what the 'standard' time is on that timer, though.

Since doing my IR, I have gotten in the habit of clicking the lights up few times while on approach - I don't want to fly an entire approach and then get in the 'clear' only to realize that they lights have timed out. Even if the lights are on, you can click them on again and that will reset the timer. If you're doing a lot of bump-n-go's at night, you might get in the habit of clicking the lights on again while on downwind or something.

I now get the whole "key it up again so you don't have to worry about it" practice. Great habit to get into.