Learning VOR?

SethV

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
SethV
Ok, I am a newbie, just getting started. Question, does anyone actually use VOR anymore? GPS is so simple, I guess VOR is a backup in case GPS dies for some reason, but in normal operation, does anyone use it for anything?

Yes. I use VOR DME everytime I fly from my base, FTG near DEN. Gotta have several datapoints on where I am relative to the Bravo which is defined by VOR DME.

VOR approaches are still out there and in use.

I understand that in the NE US, most IMC routing is via airways so lots of VOR use. I don't fly in the NE so have no direct knowledge but have no reason to doubt the practice.

If I fly somewhere I haven't been before I'll use VOR DME to back up my GPS & pilotage nav. Hey, the aircraft has it so may as well use it.

Yes. Learn it. You may use GPS much of the time, but VORs aren't going anywhere anytime soon and you'll appreciate them when GPS flakes on you.

One other note: VORs are VERY simple devices, so learning how to use them is not a very onerous task. If you can run a microwave, odds are pretty good you can master the VOR.

Yes. Learn it. You may use GPS much of the time, but VORs aren't going anywhere anytime soon and you'll appreciate them when GPS flakes on you.
Many of the VORs in our area are permanently OTS on Radial xxx-radial-xxx

Devil's advocate :devil:

I used one just last night when Mrs. 6PC said "How does that one work?"

I used one a couple weeks back when checking out a new plane and the instructor said "Can you show me how to dial in and track a VOR?"

I used one last year on my private checkride.

I think you need to know how to use them as a backup but in this day and age of ipads, gps, cellphones, and whatever else is in the plane, they are soon to be more of a novelty or backup.

I only have 200 hours logged but in those hours, I have never used one except to demonstrate it.