Lamictal

U

Unregistered

So I am a commercial pilot, recently prescribed Lamictal. I have been taking it as prescribed and seems to be working well. What is the protocol for certifying with this medication. I plan on reporting it on my next medical which is in 10 months.

Hadn't heard of the drug, so I looked it up.

http://www.drugs.com/lamictal.html

"Lamictal (lamotrigine) is an anti-epileptic medication, also called an anticonvulsant.

Lamictal is used either alone or in combination with other medications to treat epileptic seizures in adults and children. Lamotrigine is also used to delay mood episodes in adults with bipolar disorder (manic depression)."

Heavy duty stuff. And this is the WRONG place to get your answers. You need to talk with your existing AME, or someone who really knows the difficult case system Like Dr. Bruce Chien of Peoria, IL.

A search on the AOPA medication database found

Trade Name........FAA Allowed? ....Drug Classification ... Treatment For
Lamictal ..........NOT ALLOWED .. anti epileptic ........... Seizure disorder
lamotrigine

IOW, you are medically grounded -- now, and primarily for the underlying condition that drug treats. Whether a Special Issuance is possible is a good question for Bruce, but without an SI, you cannot continue flying as a CP even if you stop taking this medication.

Last edited:
I've learned (and trained) any physician I see to NOT prescribe anything that is new to me until I check with Dr. Bruce. A simple phone call or email solves so many potential problems down the road.

This is not to say that for something serious, I would refuse medical attention, but many times, there are FAA-approved options that are just as effective. The OP makes his/her living as a pilot, I don't. I would not be happy to be grounded but if it comes to my health vs. flying, the cherokee gets sold and I go back to sailing around the local lakes.

Both the drug and what it might be prescribed for is a VERY BIG DEAL with the FAA.