Known ice vs inadvertend ice

Topper

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Topper
How useful is the Piper inadvertent icing protection system? I am just beginning IR training. I assume that there are times when there is not reports of ice, but conditions are likely to produce ice and a flight without ice protection would be scrubbed. If icing was likely, but not currently known to be happening, would you take off with the inadvertent protection system?

Jim

Which airplane? What equipment?

I spent about 1,000 hours in a 69 Aztec D with wing and tail boots (horizontal and vertical), hot props, pitot heat (which was higher amperage than non-de ice), and a hot plate for the windshield. It never changed my decision vs full FIKI. Remember you shouldn't be just sitting around in icing - you use the de-ice to get out of it. How you get out of it varies, sometimes the best answer is just straight ahead.

You would benefit from some training from someone who has de-ice experience.

I noticed it on a Saratoga. I really am just wondering what the difference between the two systems affects the way planes are flown in the real world.

Thanks,

Jim

This conversation is going to get astray soon, so I will say this. Legally yes it will hinder the go/nogo. Most of the inadvertant systems are just as good if not the exact same and will do just fine.

Out of the 2 Caravans that I fly right now they are exactly the same as far as ice protection goes, but one is FIKI and one is not. The slight difference is a "Min Icing Speed" light on the glareshield is missing so it cannot legaly be launched into icing conditions. If someone was to do so they would be fine.

Would and do some people do it...yes!

And then there are people who launch into known icing in a 172...

you guys are going to get me into trouble!!

What is this Min Icing Speed light and how does that work?

I suddenly have a craving for bacon...