King Air 200 Initial Type rating

lilflyboy262

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
lilflyboy262
Hi Guys,

I'm new to flying in the states. I'm looking for a place that does King Air 200 type ratings for a reasonable price.
Seen a few around $5000, some as high as $13,000 when it is all done in a sim.
Before anyone corrects me with needing a type rating, I do need one for my countries licence :wink2:

Any help would be much appreciated.

The King Air 200 does not require a type rating in the U.S. Max takeoff weight is below 12,500 as far as I know.

The King Air 200 does not require a type rating in the U.S. Max takeoff weight is below 12,500 as far as I know.

He says:

Before anyone corrects me with needing a type rating, I do need one for my countries licence

I'm not sure what constitutes receiving the required training to qualify for a type rating in his country, but you're correct that typically no such rating is necessary for his US license.

It's best he check out an operation like Flight Safety that has dealt with international pilots before.

Last edited:
It sure would help if we knew which country you were from then, asking a question without enough information to form an answer is kinda useless.

There is a King Air BE-200 type for US certificates. The military operates them above 12,500.

I've issued several BE200 type ratings.

Most countries outside the USA need a type rating on the King Air.
Most countries will also accept a type rating completed in the USA.

All you need to do is do what is required for a type rating, and take the appropriate paperwork and file it with your local aviation authority.

I hold 4 CPL licences and a Validation, and all 5 of those companies are the same.