KA C90 vs PA-31T vs C425

I think you and I are on the same page, these conversions don't do anything better than their factory built counterparts and and a much higher cost. I know the "new" engine/prop/avionics/paint/interior arguement that goes with the conversions, but how many people actually fly a turbo-prop from 0 hours to TBO?? Darn few private pilots, most turbo-props change hands every 5-10 years, and most owner flown airplanes are 100-200 hours per year. So it would take a lifetime to get the money back on one of the converted airplanes compared to buying a mid-time factory plane and flying it until you wanted to sell it. ;)

I've seen the Baron 55 turboprop experimental; while interesting, as a BE58 pilot I don't care for it. First, it would need to be a 58 for ease of seating and loading bags. With the conversion you have to suck on O2 as the airframe isn't pressurized; big suck factor. Also, you loose the nose baggage which is a major loss of storage space. In the end, you would be much farther ahead buying a TBM700.

Like I said, gross over simplification of control

Especially since the combustion area itself is actually rich of peak on most turbines.

OK Henning. Your premise was that the 135A conversion on the C90 was a 2000 HP engine derated to 750 then flat rated to 500. I guess if you want to play semantics one might could say that. The family of -135 have similar designs that is true. There are a lot of configurations for the family of "small block Chevrolet". I don't think a person would normally refer to a 265 as a derated 400?

In fact just to correct my statements the 135A is not a family the PT6 is the family with ratings from 500 to 2000 HP. The 135A has a thermodynamic rating of 750HP. The -61 has a rating of 850 HP not the 920 I previously said. Trying to go by my feeble memory. I had a POH laying around and looked it up for the Cheyenne.