Jay Auslander DPE Review

T S

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
stim
I figured I would add some feedback from my checkride. I heard some negative feedback before about him, but I found none of that to be true. My background is a military instructor pilot on KC-10s. I got all of my FAA certificates (Commercial-SE land, ME land, instrument, and MEI) through military conversion (simple matter of paperwork and a knowledge test). I wasn't qualified to get my CFI (single engine instructor). So I decided to train to get it. This wasn't my first FAA checkride as I took my ATP two years ago before the rules changed. But anyway here is my review of Jeremy "Jay" Auslander.

Overall: Great evaluator. I met him at CDW on a hot afternoon. I flew in and met him there. Most of the 1st hour was spent meticulously combing through the documentation (as he should) to verify my logbook, medical, certificates, and application were good. There were a few minor discrepancies, which he pointed out, and we corrected them properly on the spot. No big issue. He then talked to me about the checkride standards and what we have to accomplish. The overarching theme with Jay was to take his time and make sure it was all correct and fully explain everything so that everyone is on the same page. There were even times it was so quiet, I didn't know if I was supposed to be teaching him something or he was expecting me to take charge and lead a briefing. I think he was actually thinking about what else needs to be checked or talked about before jumping in the plane.