is this a good deal

rs013

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Rob13
I am a newbie to flying but as excited as ever to begin the path of becoming a GA pilot. I am in the process of saving to start my formal training next summer (that is the goal I've set for myself).

Having said that, I just got this flash sale deal:
http://www.livingsocial.com/cities/1727/deals/477190-two-hour-flight-lesson

Is this worth to do and a deal? If anything as an intro to flying?

Thanks for any thoughts in advance and always appreciate time pilots give to help others who are just starting.

I am a newbie to flying but as excited as ever to begin the path of becoming a GA pilot. I am in the process of saving to start my formal training next summer (that is the goal I've set for myself).

Having said that, I just got this flash sale deal:
http://www.livingsocial.com/cities/1727/deals/477190-two-hour-flight-lesson

Is this worth to do and a deal? If anything as an intro to flying?

Thanks for any thoughts in advance and always appreciate time pilots give to help others who are just starting.

250 for 1 hr of ground and 1hr of stick time is high. The "on sale" rate is a good deal. If that's the real rate they charge, I'd look for a more affordable option to continue my training

Also if you weigh more than 170 pounds it costs extra.:yes::goofy:

The "going rate" in the Bay Area for a discovery flight is around $160. A little further out (Watsonville), it's under $100. So, that rate is pretty good for a 172, but the "regular" rate isn't. There is at least one flying club in the area (not this one) that doubles their regular rate, and then "discounts" it by half as a Groupon. I'm suspicious that something similar might be going on here.

Living Social basically tries to have you pay 50% as a one time hook into something. That said, the cost isn't unheard of -- it sounds like $150/hour aircraft and $50 hour for the CFI as a typical rate.