Is PTSD the dream killer?

Alex_Ferr

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Inepu
Hello all,

So I am a service connected disabled vet, with surprisingly high number of 70% for ptsd. Fortunately, the only real thing I have going symptom wise is nightmares, and a fair amount of guilt (no flashbacks, panic attacks, or any of the more extremes thank goodness). I am working with the VA to get that number dropped. They have me on Trazodone for sleep and they tried me on Citalopram but took me off of it in <6 months at my request.

I have always wanted to be a pilot my whole life, and would love to do it as a career. (airline hopefully). What are the chances of this even happening? I am willing to put the time and the money to fight for it, but only if it is an actual realistic dream (as in I can actually hold a class 1).

I have contacted Dr. Bruce Chien on his website, and would like to get as many more honest opinions as I can.
Thank you!

Last edited:
Dr. Bruce is your best answer. The rest of us are just piffle. But if you are anxious to know, there are plenty of threads discussing this issue.

Listen to Dr Chien. He wants to get people in the air, but he'll also be realistic. Potentially, there might be a path, but if so it's expensive and in the end you might get a No, which will ground you from all flying. PTSD + responsibility for 300 passengers is not an easy one for the FAA to buy into.

Recommendation - consider sport pilot. There's no medical, you use your driver's license. There are airplane weight and speed limits, plus restrictions on using towered airports (requires training and endorsements), but otherwise you could fly across the entire country with it. There's no career path, but at least you get to fly.

It’s absolutely possible as a concept, and yours sounds like a viable case.