Is a lancair IV safe for ex military pilot

captbilly

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
captbilly
I am an ex USAF pilot with substantial general aviation experience as well. I have owned several GA aircraft and now own a glass air ft. I am thinking about getting a LAncair IVp but have some concerns about safety. I suspect that I would not find the plane particularly challenging to fly after having flown much higher performance aircraft in the military but I do wonder about purely mechanical safety issues. Is the Lancair more likely to suffer an engine failure than other piston powered planes? Are there other issues of concern with the design?

I don't claim to be the best pilot in the world but I have flown many many hours is aircraft with approach speeds much higher than a Lancair so I don't see the performance envelope to be an issue. I also have many hours in fighter types that I am going to have to assume were much more "twitchy" than an Lancair. I can remember flying T-38s at high altitude (high 40s) where the slightest touch on the stick would result in several hundred feet of altitude change (and there was no autopilot, maybe they have since installed one), so the rule was to hold the stick with just your thumb and fingertips when you weren't doing across.

I remember reading an article a few years ago in which they looked at the accident stats for civilian owned jet fighters and trainers. It turned out that almost all the accidents in L-39, F-5, Migs, Alpha jets, etc. occurred when the pilot had no military flying experience. When flown by a pilot who had been trained by the USAF or USN, the accident rates were almost zero.

So the question is, assuming a well qualified pilot, is a Lancair IVp an inherently unsafe design.