iron deficiency

U

Unregistered

i am a vegetarian and have struggled on and off with mild iron deficiency. recently i have had symptoms again (tired no matter how much sleep i get, always cold). i am going to my doctor next week to talk about this and hopefully get my iron levels tested, but i am wondering how this could affect my third class medical. i am otherwise young and healthy.

Not sure why you don't try vitamins and iron supplements?

I have in the past, but they make me nauseous so i tend to stop taking them. I'm not really concerned with how to treat this (I will either start taking supplemental iron again or begin eating meat -- I already eat plenty of sources of non-heme iron). I am more concerned with how a record of anemia/low iron could affect my next medical.

I'm not a doctor, but it my understanding that there are other non-dietary reasons that could cause anemia/low iron. And those reasons are serious enough that I recommend you consult your doctor.

but i am wondering how this could affect my third class medical. i am otherwise young and healthy.

Health first, fly later.

Work with your doc to address the deficiencies you describe. Follow their plan to the successful end. Then do a consult with your AME to see what if anything you need to bring with you to the FAA. If your AME is worth his fee, he'll take your call to answer questions like this.

I've been a vegetarian for a quarter century. You aren't anemic because you don't eat meat. Get some damn help.

I appreciate everyone's concern. As a "women of childbearing age" the lack of heme iron in my diet can actually lead to anemia -- Not quite the same as a vegetarian male. Regardless, I already have an appointment with my physician to confirm that this is what is causing the problem, and will do what it takes to fix it. I just want to make sure that I also get whatever test results/information is necessary so that I do not run into problems with my medical in the future.