iPad in C150 cockpit?

AMD[H]unter

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
AMD[H]unter
Hey guys, I'm a newb around here and have been looking into getting an iPad and a mount for use in my C150A. My only concern is the sheer lack of space in the cockpit. For this reason I have considered a small Android tablet; I already have a couple good Android apps one of which is a subscription.

Anyway, does anyone around here have experience with an iPad in a 150? Short of laying it in the seat beside me or having pax hold it, I don't see where I can mount it and it not be in the way of instruments, me (on a yoke mount), or the outside world.

Any suggestions?

AMD[H]unter;839608 said:
Hey guys, I'm a newb around here and have been looking into getting an iPad and a mount for use in my C150A. My only concern is the sheer lack of space in the cockpit. For this reason I have considered a small Android tablet; I already have a couple good Android apps one of which is a subscription.

Anyway, does anyone around here have experience with an iPad in a 150? Short of laying it in the seat beside me or having pax hold it, I don't see where I can mount it and it not be in the way of instruments, me (on a yoke mount), or the outside world.

Any suggestions?

I've set it on my kneepad when flying a rental 152. If there is no one else in the plane I see no reason not to set it in the passenger seat. If there is someone in the plane then it goes in either their lap or on my kneepad.

I may get around to buying one of those gizmos that attach it to your leg like a kneepad. I'd probably buy one that allows it to be rotated to landscape mode.

I've set it on my kneepad when flying a rental 152. If there is no one else in the plane I see no reason not to set it in the passenger seat. If there is someone in the plane then it goes in either their lap or on my kneepad.