Iowa - Vegas... FLYING!!

CJones

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
uHaveNoIdea
After putting together some numbers for train/commercial flight to-and-from Vegas, I have received the go-ahead to crunch the numbers for flying us out in the RV.

So -- I need to know what kind of "preferred" route there is for going from Iowa to Las Vegas with a stop-over for a day at the Grand Canyon. We will be going March 17-23(ish) in the RV-7A w/ a 200hp IO-360, so I have a little more performance than a 172, etc. We are also investigating the option of installing supplemental O2 in the RV (a la Dr. Bruce design), so we might be able to move to 'higher altitudes'. I have zero mountain flying experience, so I'm not sure I want to tackle the passes.

Also, since my wife is still getting her 'wings' wet with flying, we'll be stopping several times enroute to stretch our legs. Any suggestions for good refuel stops along the way?

Oh yeah -- I'm IR now, so that *might* help with weather diversions, etc.

EDIT: After looking at a rough plot via ADDS Flight Path Tool with altitude set at 10k, it looks like a northern route would be just about as 'direct' as a southern route to dodge the high peaks. Is the northern area 'flyable' in March or is it still cold, ice, snow then?

EDIT 2: I just found Barry's post last August about his flight out-and-back from DPA. Looks like I have some pretty good info for a southern route (anything change in March vs. August?). Any ideas on practicality of a northern route then slide down the back side of the mountains?

Last edited:
EDIT: After looking at a rough plot via ADDS Flight Path Tool with altitude set at 10k, it looks like a northern route would be just about as 'direct' as a southern route to dodge the high peaks. Is the northern area 'flyable' in March or is it still cold, ice, snow then?

Chris,