IO-470 Compressions

Fearless Tower

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fearless Tower
Doing the pre-buy on a B55 Baron right now. So far, airplane appears to be in excellent shape. Maintenance history is excellent. Engines are around 650 SMOH. Compressions are:

LH engine #1= 70/80, #2= 60/80, #3= 70/80, #4= 65/80, #5= 65/80, #6= 62/80

RH engine #1= 70/80, #2= 60/80, #3= 68/80, #4= 70/80, #5= 66/80, #6= 70/80

I was a little suprised to see some cylinders down around 60/80, but I have zero experience dealing with maintenance of -470s. My O-300 in the 170 still has compressions well in the 70's at around 400 SMOH.

Is this normal for IO-470s? Any concerns? I'll be doing oil analysis, but probably be a few days before I get that info.

It is a good airplane - I am mostly concerned with overpaying on the purchase if I am going to have to do a TOH within the next 5 years.

Big bore contis don't have the same compressions as O320's

An expert will be along shortly to explain. There's a little controversy.

Those numbers look good to me;

Did they use the proper technique and orifice? How much has it been flying? Was it flown hard right before taking compressions?

If it's anything like mine you can check it again tomorrow and they'll all be different.

But, I don't see anything alarming in those numbers.

Last edited:
How much has it been flying?

My compressions have been improving since I bought the aircraft. Engines need to be run. Run them at high power and fly frequently...

Did you listen to the exhaust pipe during the compression test? Leaking through the exhaust, not good, leaking through the breather, acceptable. Are they chrome cylinders?

Did they use the proper technique and orifice?
I assume so. The IA doing the pre-buy(annual inspection) used to work for Beech and has 1000 hrs in type flying company B55s around the country.

How much has it been flying?
Only about 50 hours per year the last two years. 75-100 hrs per year before that.