Interested

vxmine

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
James T
Well, I think I've got the bug. I've always been interested in flying, but have never been serious enough (or had the time/money). However, now that I've been really doing research on it I think I'm ready.

Being a complete newbie, I have a lot of questions. Any advice help you can provide is greatly appreciated, so I will just start with a couple.

1. Choosing a flight school - How much should I shop around? There are a few in my area and I sat down with an instructor the other day and he seemed experienced enough and generally interested in teaching me. I did get the feeling of walking on to a car lot though, I don't know why? Instructors just hanging out waiting for people like me to come in? I will say it was windy and overcast, so no one was flying.
  2. Ground school - I just saw a thread that ground school can be done on your own? Is this recommended or should I just pay the instructor to "help" me with this area. I don't mind paying for a worthwhile service.
  3. Cost/Time - This instructor quote an average cost of 7k (Cessna 172) and he usually likes to get about 50-60hrs from his students. Is this ok? I know they're trying to make a living, but I want to be able to identify "new guy" red flags.
I am in the very first stages of this adventure (researching how to get started!). I read Capn Ron's sticky and it helps a lot.

Finding this site was great and has really helped me answer some internal questions.

Thanks in advance.

James

Welcome to PoA.
1) Shop until you are comfortable. You will be spending a lot of time with them.
2) I took it through the community college and enjoyed the interaction. It is not hard material, if you are a decent test taker, though and you can use your instructor for questions and filling in the holes.
3) everyone is different. It takes you what it takes you. Most people take around 60 hours, I hear and I certainly did.

Good questions, welcome to PoA.