Insurance Questions

JB1842

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Josh
So I decided to file an insurance claim for my bad landing. I am expecting a rise in premiums, but my question(s) is what is taken into account for this. I was a student on a night training flight with a CFI aboard. The FAA is only classifying this as an incident. I have Falcon Insurance. Will being a student be to my benefit, as not being PIC, therefore not held to as much responsibility? Will getting more night training and passing my check ride in the next few weeks help mitigate the rise in premiums? Will the WINGS courses I have taken help? If my insurance company goes after my CFI's insurance will my premiums still rise? I know this is a lot of questions, and I wasn't sure I wanted to file a claim, but I think it would be in my best interest (and the plane) to go this route.

I always ask my broker what I can do to help lower my rates. She gives me useful answers, although sometimes the answer is "Nothing."

How much are we talking? My gut feeling is if it's an AMU or so, they might not hassle the CFI MUCH.

You weren't the first person to "stick" the landing in a Cessna 150, I haven't been following your previous thread that close by my feeling was that it was 10% pilot technique and 90% "something not right" with the plane.

If they see it as a "failure of the axle" then it might not be anything but "here's a check, thanks for your business"

Im just guessing :)

If you are turning it in I really really really suggest pulling the mount to be jigged by a mount shop.

How much are we talking? My gut feeling is if it's an AMU or so, they might not hassle the CFI MUCH.

You weren't the first person to "stick" the landing in a Cessna 150, I haven't been following your previous thread that close by my feeling was that it was 10% pilot technique and 90% "something not right" with the plane.