Instrument training with a glass cockpit

Nav8tor

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Nav8tor
In another thread involving options for instrument training in the Phila area, two of the recomended FBO's have aircraft with glass cockpits.

This got me thinking about the relative advantages/disadvantages of training with state of the art glass cockpits versus traditional steam gauges.

I have no experience with glass cockpits, but I would think that they would be better for flying IFR since the information is presented in a manner that reduces visual scan requirements and they can be configured to show the information pertainent to a specific phase of flight to help with improved situational awareness.

The downside as I see it is that a pilot doing his/her training 100% in a glass cockpit would have a difficult time transitioning to instrument flying in a traditional cockpit. This being the case, unless the instrument student owns the aircraft or intends to do all of his/her training in the glass cockpit aircraft my advise would be to train in a traditional cockpit.

Your thoughts?......

Nav8tor said:
In another thread involving options for instrument training in the Phila area, two of the recomended FBO's have aircraft with glass cockpits.

This got me thinking about the relative advantages/disadvantages of training with state of the art glass cockpits versus traditional steam gauges.

I have no experience with glass cockpits, but I would think that they would be better for flying IFR since the information is presented in a manner that reduces visual scan requirements and they can be configured to show the information pertainent to a specific phase of flight to help with improved situational awareness.