Instrument Training Questions

fukhar

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Fukhar
Hi again!

Since you guys think its a bad idea to practice IFR without having taken any lessons and since I am 25 PIC cross country and 32 simulated IFR hours away from being eligible to apply for an instrument rating, I was thinking of taking lessons and at the same time building my X-C time and hood time with a safety pilot.
I have a few questions:
1) how many dual hours do you guys ESTIMATE I will need (I am guessing that the required 15 won't be enough)? I am a very proficient private pilot with 85 hours TT and I have already studied very thoroughly for the IR knowledge test (taking it next week).
2) I plan on doing my training in an instrument certified Cessna 150 that cruises at 75-80 TAS, what are your thoughts on that?

Thanks!

1) how many dual hours do you guys ESTIMATE I will need (I am guessing that the required 15 won't be enough)? I am a very proficient private pilot with 85 hours TT and I have already studied very thoroughly for the IR knowledge test (taking it next week).
From Peter Dogan's Book (am through the first few chapters and it's really good... highly suggest you obtain a copy):
There is no specific minimum number of total flight ours requred for the rating. However, the applicant must have logged at least 50 hours of cross ountry time as pilot in command.

If the pilot has completed 45 hours of PIC XC time prior to beginning the 10-day course
[referring to the 10-day immersive Professional Instrument Course, Inc. training -- AM88] the time logged during the course can complete the requirement.