Installing instruments?

cowman

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Cowman
Say I had an airplane without a gps and I found a deal on one. Say a garmin 430...

I work with electronics quite a bit, I'm a programmer, I've installed many car stereos, built some simple circuits, I can solder, etc, etc..

Is this a job I can DIY with basic electrical know-how? What's involved? Would I have to have someone certify it somehow?

I ask because i see many airplanes for sale that I like and are in my price range potentially but lack a nice moving map gps which is something I really want to have. If I could purchase and install one myself it might make a difference.

Initially at least I'll be a VFR only pilot but I may want to pursue IFR training later down the road if that makes a difference.

You can do it under the DIRECT supervision of an A&P. Said A&P must be willing to sign off the installation of your work.

<Edit: Your install procedures must follow the mfg install instructions. No deviations allowed.>

There are a few special things to think about with avionics that you won't find in a car stereo, but it's not very hard.

The hand-helds are as good as the panel-mounts at about 10% of the cost. Just buy one and plug it in.
Say I had an airplane without a gps and I found a deal on one. Say a garmin 430...

I work with electronics quite a bit, I'm a programmer, I've installed many car stereos, built some simple circuits, I can solder, etc, etc..

Is this a job I can DIY with basic electrical know-how? What's involved? Would I have to have someone certify it somehow?

I ask because i see many airplanes for sale that I like and are in my price range potentially but lack a nice moving map gps which is something I really want to have. If I could purchase and install one myself it might make a difference.

Initially at least I'll be a VFR only pilot but I may want to pursue IFR training later down the road if that makes a difference.