Improperly Administered OCVT - Trying to Appeal

A

AnAspiringPilot

Hello everyone,

I am in a particularly difficult position regarding an improperly administered OCVT by a local FSDO, and I am looking for some advice from this community. I have been carrying a color restriction on my medical for a few years and, after completing my commercial license and instrument rating (with 270+ flight hours), I decided it was time to have that restriction removed (I understand that a wiser person would have done this sooner).

I spoke with my AME who advised me that the only option was to take the OCVT (hindsight is 20/20 on doing my own due diligence). I got my letter of approval to take the test and set an appointment with the local FSDO. To say the least (I can provide details as necessary), the two FSDO administrators screwed up in administering the test, resulting in a failure. I immediately reported the events of what happened to the regional flight surgeon’s office, who advised me to write up a narrative of what happened and send it to the office that day to appeal the test. I typed up a detailed report of the incident, and I received a letter from the regional flight surgeon a few weeks later saying my appeal was denied.

There is no doubt that I am color deficient, but I am certainly not colorblind. I have flown approaches with color signals in the past with CFII’s, and have correctly identified the colors.

I reported what happened to my AME who advised me to get help from AOPA Pilot Advisory Services. I went through the channels and did a 30-minute consultation with an attorney who advised me to consult AMAS (Aviation Medicine Advisory Service) before seeking further legal help.