IFR Training Book

dell30rb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ren
I'm a new private pilot and interested in getting my instrument rating (aren't all new pilots?).

I got my PPL in the minimum amount of time (and cost) because I started reading and re-reading material well in advance. I never bothered with ground school.

Of course I had a good CFI and trained regularly!

I plan on taking the same approach to getting an instrument rating. My primary instructor is already in my ear about getting it.

So, what is a good comprehensive book for IR training? There are alot of options!

I concur with Mike's suggestions. I used the Gleim test prep for both my PPL and IR written tests...it's very test-focused and not sufficient for the general knowledge you need, but it helps with the "what in the heck are they really asking for?" FAA questions.

I read Dogan's and Machado's books prior to taking an IR accelerated training course, and they gave me the solid foundation I needed to build my practical work upon.

I also benefitted from Max Trescott's "GPS and WAAS Instrument Flying Handbook", to get me up to speed with my 430W "buttonology". In an accelerated training program, there's not a lot of time to figure it out as you go. If you go the "traditional" route (flying a 2-3 times a week), such a book is probably not as important.

Last edited:
I like the FAA's Instrument Flying Handbook and Jeppesen Instrument/Commercial for complete knowledge, and GLEIM for test prep.

A great book, but not "comprehensive." Better as one to use during the actual flight training.

Excellent choice -- truly comprehensive, but it's "Bob," not "Bog." ;) Another great one is Bill Kershner's Instrument Flight Manual (I think the 6th edition is current).

Personally, I don't like Rod's stuff -- I think he's more interested in entertainment than education.

And a few FAA AC's that I don't have a link for atm.
Useful for reference, but not as a "comprehensive book for IR training."