IFR routings and Foreflight.

stratobee

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
stratobee
As you know, I'm a pretty new IR pilot. In fact, yesterday was my first day of filing on my own. A roundtrip from LA to Monterey.

But it seems I'm missing a few tricks when it comes to preferred routings when I'm filing. Basically, I do all my flight planning on Foreflight. I also file from there. But is there a way to plan a flight and get ATC's preferred routings on Foreflight? I haven't seemed to find a way. What I end up doing is filing direct and then have ATC figure it out for me and give me a clearance. But coming back from Monterey yesterday that kind of backfired as I got cleared direct and then enroute had to contend with two re-clearings/amended routes that needed programming in quick succession. Would have been better if I knew their preferred route and could have filed that.

Where do you figure out routings? How do you know if a Victor way is preferred for northbound traffic, or southbound? Which VOR's should I use going a certain direction?

Look in the AFD. In the back they have IFR Preferred Routes and TEC (Tower Enroute Clearance) Routes. Match the city pairs. If the it doesn't list the exact city pairs you can look at airports close to your destination and departure airport and you'll likely get a route close to those city pairs.

As you know, I'm a pretty new IR pilot. In fact, yesterday was my first day of filing on my own. A roundtrip from LA to Monterey.