IFR Hays to Wheeler Downtown

Terry

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Terry
Hi everyone,

I am a 65 year old pilot and earned my instrument rating around 4 years ago. I am current but I have only flown actual IFR when I was training. I have flown IFR in VFR conditions 2 times and both were to non-towered airports. One was Hays, Ks. to LaJunta, Co. and one was Hays, Ks. to Clayton, NM.

I have flown to Wichita, Ks., which is class "C" but was VFR.

I have never flown in class "B". Hence my adventure.

April, 14th, I will file IFR from KHYS, Hays, to Wheeler/Downtown, KMKC.

I have a CFI, who is a retired ATC controller, who will be in the right seat with me. I plan to leave at 9 a.m. and fly to KMKC and have a cup of coffee and then return.

This is probably boring for some of you east and west coasters. Out here in fly over country I never fly to a towered airport.

I am excited and looking forward to this trip. My minimums are 800' and about the only thing that would stop the flight. (Icing, fog, & thunderstorms, and common sense.) I am used to flying in wind since I am in western Kansas. Honestly, if the wind didn't blow, it would really mess me up. :wink2:

Anyway, any of you been into Wheeler Downtown? Stories? Experiences? Nice airport?

Terry

I'm not IRF rated, but fly into MCI airspace regularly. All I can say is it is a slow "B" and the controllers are very accommodating for passing through "B" to land at one of the feeder airports. They don't seem to mind the slower single engine traffic, just glad you are talking to them, very professional. You'll have a great time.

Got your IFR rating at 61? Hmmmm. :idea:

Last edited: