IflightPlanner (free) - Better than Foreflight?

VWGhiaBob

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
VWGhiaBob
Just found a new product...wondering if anyone else has tried it. IflightPlanner (http://www.iflightplanner.com/) looks a lot like Foreflight, but it's free.

The main option I love is the ability to save plans and other information on the web, rather than just on your iPad. That way, if your iPad is lost, all your information can simply be retrieved. OR...if you use more than one iPad (e.g., one for back-up in flight), you can share flight plans and data across multiple devices. This seems like a huge Foreflight oversight not to have this feature.

This planner, like Foreflight, seems to have all the bells and whistles, including an interface with www.duats.com.

All this, and a basic but very usable version is FREE.

Anyone else tried it? I have little experience so far!

I have played with it a bit more and like it. One negative: flight planning must be done on the web, not mobile devices. But a new version about to be released fixes this. With that, this product meets the two main gripes of my Foreflight experience: No web clound back up and no PC web flight entry...mobile only...big oversight by Foreflight.

Thanks, Scott. Good comments. They are monitoring these posts so perhaps they will chime in. Competition is a good thing!

After a very quick look, one thing that really stands out is they appear to use vector approach plates, so you can zoom into detailed views with no fuzziness. Downside is they aren't georeferenced, unless that's a premium option. Also, it appears to be an all or nothing on the charts....you can't pick states or regions to download.

Definitely not up to a ForeFlight or Garmin Pilot level...yet.

Wonder how long it'll be before they get sued, too. Noted that AOPA has been sued for patent infringement with respect to the FlyQ flight planner.

if it has the AFD, it's already got a feature over GP.