I seriously need advise!

Frank Browne

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
FB
The rumor mill has been busy lately at work with talk that the company isn't doing well, and that we will soon be facing layoffs. Many of those rumors have now been confirmed. We will be hearing in the next 3 weeks or so which employees will be offered buyouts and which will be laid off. The rest of us may be looking at pay cuts as well. I have been working for this company since 1973. I'm not up into the age group that will be offered buyouts either. Frankly, I'm nervous as hell about this. I haven't had to look for work in almost 34 years, and I really don't want to have to start over at the bottom somewhere at this stage in my life. I guess my question is, should I start looking now, or should I wait to see what happens? If I post a resume on monster.com, can they use that as a reason to fire me?

I can't even begin to think about not working since I recently lost have of my 401k due to divorce. I'm kindof...well...scared ****less.

It is never too early to start looking. Best to have a back up plan in your pocket. Start networking now, post your resume, and think of other alternatives. Starting over may not be so bad if it is something that you want to do.