I feel really behind...

gcd89

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Greg D.
I feel like I'm really behind as far as knowledge. Like in another thread here, someone was talking about flight following, and different kinds of airspace, and I have next to zero practical knowledge of these things. Or on other flying forums when people are talking about all things like clearances and a whole bunch of crazy stuff I don't get.

Note: I am still a student pilot. Is this knowledge just something can comes with experience, or do I need to buckle down and start studying harder?

Your awareness that you need to continue learning about things you don't know is good first step. You'll probably learn what you need to know as you go along, but since you obviously have the ability to enumerate them, it would probably serve you well to make a list (on paper or screen) as they occur to you, and ask your instructor to fill in the blanks as you progress through your training.

I feel like I'm really behind as far as knowledge. Like in another thread here, someone was talking about flight following, and different kinds of airspace, and I have next to zero practical knowledge of these things. Or on other flying forums when people are talking about all things like clearances and a whole bunch of crazy stuff I don't get.

Note: I am still a student pilot. Is this knowledge just something can comes with experience, or do I need to buckle down and start studying harder?

How far along are you in your student training?

Knowledge comes with both experience and studying. It really does need both. So, I would say, don't worry too much, but still maybe read a little something new every day to help

How far along are you in your student training?

Knowledge comes with both experience and studying. It really does need both. So, I would say, don't worry too much, but still maybe read a little something new every day to help