HVAC guys are cool............get it???

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by eman1200, May 16, 2022.

  1. Lachlan

    Lachlan En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    3,789
    Location:
    North Creek, NY

    Display name:
    Lachlan
    If that orange tubing is cracked or unhooked at the pressure switch end, it’s not going to be able to activate the pressure switch, and will need a simple replacement.
     
  2. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    very cool, thanks for the suggestion! I'll check that today and report back.
     
  3. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    Yes but if that board let's it's smoke out, the guy won't have one on his truck. Ten years out, he can't get one any more. KISS.
     
  4. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    That's the wrong fan. I think they call that the inducer fan. It's for the gas heater. The one you want is much bigger, in the cabinet.
     
  5. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    this one?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    That looks like the right one
     
  7. Tarheelpilot

    Tarheelpilot Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,687
    Location:
    North Carolina once again.

    Display name:
    Tarheelpilot
    Agree you’re looking at the wrong fan. The induced draft fan is a heat only function. It doesn’t run during AC operation. All the symptoms you describe are indicators the refrigerant is not moving to a gas state in your evaporator. That’s caused by a lack of airflow over the coil. It’s either the big fan that makes the air blow out of the vents, a plugged filter in the return ducting or a very dirty evaporator coil.

    :my uneducated guess
     
  8. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    for the record, I'm not really "looking" at any fan. I'm simply pointing out what is and isn't working and what I'm replacing (capacitor). after that, I'm SOL as far as HVAC knowledge and options go.
     
  9. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    TN

    Display name:
    FORANE
    Agree with you. I've got a water heater with a board that's given me trouble; I would rather not have any board on the water heater.
     
    PaulS likes this.
  10. Lachlan

    Lachlan En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    3,789
    Location:
    North Creek, NY

    Display name:
    Lachlan
    I agree, but why was his induction fan spinning when it first tries to start up? Or, perhaps I completely misunderstood his description.
     
  11. Dave Theisen

    Dave Theisen En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Marietta, GA

    Display name:
    Dave Theisen
    “Cut the blue wire, not the red one. We are all counting on you”. :)
     
  12. Tarheelpilot

    Tarheelpilot Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,687
    Location:
    North Carolina once again.

    Display name:
    Tarheelpilot
    If it is I have no idea. I’ve never had one run the induced draft fan in cooling mode.
     
  13. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    I am sad to report the capacitor did not help. ugh.
     
  14. Albany Tom

    Albany Tom Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1,973

    Display name:
    Albany Tom
    Well that sucks. Sorry to hear.
     
    Dave Theisen likes this.
  15. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    Volt meter, do you own one and know how you use it?
     
  16. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    I don’t, but I plan on getting one and figuring out how to use it.
     
  17. Checkout_my_Six

    Checkout_my_Six Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,566
    Location:
    Maryland

    Display name:
    Check_my_Six
    swapatronics sometimes doesn't work as planned.....;)
     
  18. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    It's not that hard. It might be the board, or the motor. You need to figure out if voltage is getting to the motor. Components beyond the cap start getting costly. Also do the wire shake test. Sometimes things shake loose or connections have issues. Turn the system on and shake away. One more thing to try is to turn on the heat and see if the fan works.
     
  19. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    ugh, good idea. so I turned the heat on and the little black spinny thing from the video stayed running but the fan never kicked on. all things are pointing to the main fan not working, whether it's circuit board or the fan itself, I'm not sure of....
     
  20. Dave Theisen

    Dave Theisen En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Marietta, GA

    Display name:
    Dave Theisen
    Not cool. :)
     
  21. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12,903
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    That's where the volt meter comes in. Make sure voltage is getting to the fan motor. If no,then it's probably a relay on the board. Also check the resistance of the motor.

    There are likely videos to show you how to check this stuff, most likely for your exact system. Enter the model number into a yt search.
     
  22. Checkout_my_Six

    Checkout_my_Six Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,566
    Location:
    Maryland

    Display name:
    Check_my_Six
    you need a bigger hammer....to really shake it. :eek:
     
  23. flyingbrit

    flyingbrit Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    355

    Display name:
    flyingbrit
    Does your thermostat have a "fan only" position that makes the fan run all the time even when there is no cooling or heating? If so I would use that to simplify things when troubleshooting the fan. No worries about things freezing up etc.
     
  24. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    I think so, it has heat/off/cool and FAN - auto/fan.
     
  25. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    ok so AC guy came out, jiggled a few wires and said it's the control board. I had already researched the few parts that it could possibly be and their prices. the identical replacement control board was $119 online. he was going to charge me $475 to replace it with his board (board + labor). now I KNOW these guys have to make money, I completely understand that, and to boot this is a veteran owned business but if it's something I can easily do, in what world does it make sense to pay four times as much?!? I felt really bad and I showed him the part online and said if you could do it for X I'd go with him (just so I had support in case something went wrong) but he wouldn't budge. so I just finished replacing the board, at first I didn't think it was working because I was hearing less 'clicks' when I hit the door switch, but after a while it came on and is now blowing air! I think the fewer clicks is actually a good thing, now that I think about it. it's not really cold yet, I'm assuming it'll take a bit to get that cold air flowing thru the system. also the line outside isn't freezing up so so far so good. just in time, too, cause it's gonna be in the 90's all weekend.

    thanks for everyone's input.
     
  26. Checkout_my_Six

    Checkout_my_Six Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,566
    Location:
    Maryland

    Display name:
    Check_my_Six
    and now you also have a new cap....;):D
     
  27. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    15,316

    Display name:
    Sixer
    My system caught whatever your system was spreading.

    Just had to replace the fan motor and capacitor.

    20220520_133145_06.jpg 20220520_154719.jpg 20220520_154713.jpg
     
  28. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    I did the exact same thing a coupl'a years ago. that was easier to diagnose, I couldn't manually spin the fan at all, it was all jammed up. swapped the fan and figured while I was there, the capacitor as well.
     
  29. chartbundle

    chartbundle Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    State of Confusion

    Display name:
    chartbundle
    Now you just need to learn how to repair the board. It's probably something obvious like a bad relay.
     
    Checkout_my_Six likes this.
  30. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7,563
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    One of my 5Ton A/C units is from the 90s and sounds like a garbage disposal for a few seconds when it starts up, lol. Trips the 30A breaker a few times per summer. When it finally dies I'll replace the whole system since it's likely a low SEER system and not worth the hassle to repair. Been dead-on reliable for the 10 years I've owned the home and aside from the occasional breaker trip with the A/C it hasn't inconvenienced us. Can't say as much for the Goodman package unit on the other side of the house which seems to need minor service every other year with the heater.
     
  31. Checkout_my_Six

    Checkout_my_Six Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,566
    Location:
    Maryland

    Display name:
    Check_my_Six
    If your fan sounds like a garbage disposal.....just leave it on 24/7. Mine sounded like that 15 years ago....and it runs 24/7 with no issues. Costs about $30/mo to run like that and the house feels better and fresher. I do go thru filters faster.
     
  32. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7,563
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    The condenser outside is what sounds like the garbage disposal when starting up. Inside blower is fine. It's just the starter sequence, but bad noises stop once the unit gets going after 5 seconds.
     
  33. Checkout_my_Six

    Checkout_my_Six Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,566
    Location:
    Maryland

    Display name:
    Check_my_Six
    Reversing valve isn’t closing and opening….properly?
     
  34. the dude

    the dude Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2022
    Messages:
    3

    Display name:
    the dude
    Just read this thread. Long time lurker but first time poster and going to seem rude but do you take your own eggs to Denny's ? Black thing that spins is scary, playing with a gas furnace and family memebers lives also. Been in the business 40 years although commercial/ industrial, i wouldn't have changed my pricing either and if you would have changed the board yourself as you did after calling me out, having me crawl up your attic to diagnosis something , you cant even name, good luck getting me back if it didn't work. I don't agree with gouging people either but from what I read his labor rate is added into the pricing which doesn't seem bad.
     
  35. luvflyin

    luvflyin Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13,406
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
  36. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    #1 Dennys sucks and yes if I went there I’d bring my own eggs because I can cook a better omelette blindfolded than anything that comes out of dennys.

    #2 I didn’t question his rate, I simply did exactly what he’d have done for 1/4 the price. Sorry but don’t make it sound like it’s special work, it’s literally clipping the wires to the exact same spot on the exact same replacement board. I paid him for the diagnosis, which was above my pay grade and I was happy to do so.

    Have you ever changed your own oil? Please, for heaven’s sake, your family’s lives are at stake, go to a professional!

    Gimme a break
     
  37. the dude

    the dude Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2022
    Messages:
    3

    Display name:
    the dude
    Yes i change my own oil but i don't take it to the service shop and ask to use their rack.

    You didn't mention in your post you paid for the diagnosis. Many people want free estimates and then want to buy the parts themselves.

    The fan is no big deal, all you had to do was apply power 120v to the correct speed wire on the motor and it would have ran until you picked up a board.

    The combustion motor ( What i am suspecting you called a black thingy) and the gas section was what i was taking about being a safety issue. I had a unit Thursday that someone I assume unknowingly jumped the pressure controls out and made a bomb out of it.
     
  38. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16,175
    Location:
    Oakland, CA

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift

    you seem to have made a lot of assumptions, great start to joining PoA.

    so you're ok with me rerouting power and hacking the system but you're not ok with me replacing a plug and play board held on by 4 screws. got it.

    I'm willing to swap parts that are essentially bolt on parts, plug and play. I won't pretend to have knowledge or the ability to replace parts I can't even identify, like the black spinny thing (which now that I know what it's actually called will forever be referenced as 'the black spinny thing'), and will happily pay a professional for that work.

    I've replaced two capacitors, a fan and now a control board on my HVAC system and have saved myself a ton of money, as any good homeowner would do.
     
    NHWannabe and Checkout_my_Six like this.
  39. RonP

    RonP Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    182

    Display name:
    RvP

    Some AC motors use a capacitor to create a separate phase essentially making a single phase motor into a 2 phase motor. The capacitor is always in the circuit unlike a capacitor start motor that removes the capacitor from the circuit after start up. This is due to the properties of a capacitor that voltage and current are not in phase going thru the cap.