Hull insurance.

crazyhorse

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
crazyhorse
Hello,
I'm an Irish pilot who goes to the usa each april for a holiday and some cheaper-than-Ireland plane rental.You are quoted an hourly wet rental rate and thats it.
Next year for a change I said I'd give south TX gulf a try.I was quoted the rate and told I'd have to get $25000 worth of hull insurance as well.
Whats that all about? Is this something new?
Any replies appreciated,
Jackie(male name over here)

crazyhorse said:
Hello,
I'm an Irish pilot who goes to the usa each april for a holiday and some cheaper-than-Ireland plane rental.You are quoted an hourly wet rental rate and thats it.
Next year for a change I said I'd give south TX gulf a try.I was quoted the rate and told I'd have to get $25000 worth of hull insurance as well.
Any replies appreciated,
Check with a different FBO.

I've never had to buy insurance with any FBO I've flown at..although I'm a little less concerned than others when it comes to liability.

jangell said:
Check with a different FBO.

I've never had to buy insurance with any FBO I've flown at..although I'm a little less concerned than others when it comes to liability.

LOL. No assets, nothing to come after. We should all be so lucky.

Many FBO's in the USA are reducing their insurance premiums by increasing the deductibles on their hull insurance. Since the renter is generally responsible for any deductible if the plane is bent, they want to be sure they'll be able to collect that deductible without hiring a lawyer and getting a lien on the renter's home, and requiring the renters to have that much hull insurance of their own is a pretty good way to do that. Expect to see the requirement for renters to have their own insurance become more and more widespread.

crazyhorse said:
Hello,
Any replies appreciated,

No, nothing new, except for the current panic over liability.

Hull Insurance protects you, from the insurance company insuring the plane.