How to round out.

loch1957

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
James
Hello I just joined and after searching a while I didn't find the exact topic. I have a question. I'm a new student, well 21 hours so far. I'm comfortable flying around, taking off, even stalls and S turns. The one thing that frustrates me is I constantly over compensate when I round out. In other words I balloon up. I am taking lesson in an ercoupe which I like flying. (rudder pedals added) My instructor is very patient and supportive but I was wondering if a different perspective might help. He tries to explain but perhaps I'm not grasping what he is trying to tell me. How do I stop over reacting?

Oh and Hi folks!!

Just keep flying down towards the runway a little longer...looks scary, but it works!

Talk with your instructor about what you should be doing with your field of vision and when.

Usually ballooning is the result of excessive airspeed. Sometimes it's the result of overcontrolling in pitch. Sometimes it's the result of starting the flare too high. No way to tell which it is without flying with you.

Hello I just joined and after searching a while I didn't find the exact topic. I have a question. I'm a new student, well 21 hours so far. I'm comfortable flying around, taking off, even stalls and S turns. The one thing that frustrates me is I constantly over compensate when I round out. In other words I balloon up. I am taking lesson in an ercoupe which I like flying. (rudder pedals added) My instructor is very patient and supportive but I was wondering if a different perspective might help. He tries to explain but perhaps I'm not grasping what he is trying to tell me. How do I stop over reacting?

Oh and Hi folks!!

Hey look, another James! Welcome!