How to buy a plane - Need advice

Stryker1112

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Stryker
So Im a VERY low time pilot, 130 hours, who just got their BFR done last month (licensed 1993). Id like to buy a plane and due to family I know what type of plane to buy. My problem is, I am checked out on complex/HP airplanes but I'm not dumb enough to think I know enough. Id like a Cherokee Six, I have never flown one but I need the room. So my question is how do I buy? I cant really fly to a place and go fly one, my experience is too low. And I need advice on avionics as GPS wasn't even around when I last flew. I don't know the difference in autopilots, but again I have just flown steam gauge planes with no AP. But if I buy a plane I want to get my moneys worth and get avionics I can grow into. See my dilemma? I need advice on guys that have been there, done that.

Im in Dallas if it makes a difference

So Im a VERY low time pilot, 130 hours, who just got their BFR done last month (licensed 1993). Id like to buy a plane and due to family I know what type of plane to buy. My problem is, I am checked out on complex/HP airplanes but I'm not dumb enough to think I know enough. Id like a Cherokee Six, I have never flown one but I need the room. So my question is how do I buy? I cant really fly to a place and go fly one, my experience is too low. And I need advice on avionics as GPS wasn't even around when I last flew. I don't know the difference in autopilots, but again I have just flown steam gauge planes with no AP. But if I buy a plane I want to get my moneys worth and get avionics I can grow into. See my dilemma? I need advice on guys that have been there, done that.

Im in Dallas if it makes a difference

You are lucky that there are several airplane owners on here in the Dallas area that have a pretty wide range of planes. I can't speak for them, but I'm pretty certain a few would take you up so you can see what you do or don't like.