How to better prepare for interviews??

I had my hobbies on my resume when I was in college and shortly after I graduated. Looking back, it seems just plain silly. I wouldn't include it for the reasons mentioned by other posts...unless you have a short history and are desperate to fill up the whitespace.

I have my entire resume to one side and about 1/3 of the back side.... less if you take away the hobbies.

I've never hired a pilot before, but I've hired a number of people during the middle part of my career. The few things that come to mind:

Yes, wear the suit.

DON'T ask how much money the job pays. It will come up at the appropriate time. Ask that question and you're instantly labeled as someone who wants a paycheck, but not necessarily wants to do the work.

Do some research on the company ahead of time. If they are public, be familiar with their most recent annual report. Not a requirement, but showing them that you've done some homework usually goes over well. In today's world you can get familiar with almost any company on Earth via the internet. Know as much as you can about them and if an opening comes up to ask a question that shows that you DO know something about their company it will help your cause.

Don't answer your cell phone, in fact, leave it in the car.

A common interview question will be something like, "when did you work for XYZ company?" This is asked to try to determine whether or not your resume is BS.

Another common interview question will be "tell me about the XYZ project that your worked on for ABC company" This is simply to see if you are feeding BS. If you start telling them all about the project it will be apparant that you really DID that project or work. If you hem and haw about it, then it appears to be made up.

Look them straight in the eye. Nothing makes you look shadier than gazing around the room while talking to someone.