How the heck am I supposed to find a plane to buy!?

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Freefalling, Oct 16, 2019.

1. Freefalling

Freefalling Filing Flight Plan

Display Name:

Display name:
    Kevin
    First post here, so please let me know if this belongs somewhere else. I am a low time student pilot paying a FORTUNE for a beat-to-hell C172 ($200+/hour, plus instructor, no digital anything). The essential maintenance is done on the plane, but it's got several things Inop and I feel like it's in the shop more than it's out. In other words, even though I am available to fly every single day, I have only accumulated 10 hours in 3 weeks because of plane availability issues (Nearly 20 students, one plane...). Unfortunately, where I live, this is the only option for training, and the used plane market is...limited, at best. I have been asking around and the only thing I've found for sale is a beautiful Cessna 210, but I'd be paying a lot more to build those hours.

My mission goals are pretty simple: I want to be able to haul around my family (2 adults, 2 kids), guests who come to visit (We live on a tropical island), and eventually, once I have my commercial, I'd like to start giving aero-tours to help offset the cost of the fuel and maintenance a bit. For these reasons, I think a C182 is the way to go for me. I like the 172 for the most part, I like the high wing for sight seeing purposes, and I like the 182 because it's a bit more comfy inside and has a better payload capacity. I'm not stuck on a 182, but from all of my research, I feel like it's a good starter plane for my specific needs. I know that owning and maintaining a plane ain't cheap, but when you're paying $200+/hour for a plane that's almost never available, buying starts to make a lot of sense.