How should I approach a future airline career with mild asthma?

• Thread starter Cris The Future Pilot
  • Start date
C

Cris The Future Pilot

I am a sophomore in high school and my doctor says I am growing out of my mild asthma. My asthma is mainly affected by my allergy towards dogs and cats. I have never had a legitament attack, and have never been to the hospital. Apparently having asthma is a disqualifying aspect that airlines consider. When I take my FAA Medical Certificate test, what will they do? Should I lie about not having asthma? It is my dream to be an airline pilot. I don't care if I start out making squat - I have over 1200 hours on flight simulator and 87 hours in the air, I am dedicated.

I am a sophomore in high school and my doctor says I am growing out of my mild asthma. My asthma is mainly affected by my allergy towards dogs and cats. I have never had a legitament attack, and have never been to the hospital. Apparently having asthma is a disqualifying aspect that airlines consider. When I take my FAA Medical Certificate test, what will they do? Should I lie about not having asthma? It is my dream to be an airline pilot. I don't care if I start out making squat - I have over 1200 hours on flight simulator and 87 hours in the air, I am dedicated.

The very last thing you want to do is lie on your medical. :no:

I'm sure Dr. Bruce and others who know a lot more than I do will chime in here, but perhaps if you can show that it's controlled and exercise- or allergen-induced, you might have chance?

It is allergenic induced mainly. I am allergic to dogs and cats. The doctor says that my asthma is becoming less affected from it however. As for physical, my asthma is fine. I am getting offers to play at some collegiate division one school for soccer, clears to show that it does not affect me on the field. In terms of condition while flying? Well I climbed Mt. Rainier a while back an the "thin air" did not affect me at all.