• 65+

Votes: 41 15.5%

• Total voters

Morne

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Morne
In another thread there seems to be a lot of bashing of the, "300 hour, 19 year old CFI." I have no experience with these folks.

Personally, both my regular CFI and the guy I used as a back-up on the days my normal guy was booked were over 60. I have no clue how many hours they had, but "a dozen metric tons" seems to be a conservative guess. They'd both been flying since childhood.

So I am now curious what the breakdown of folks trained by "young uns" versus "geezers" might be.

I also wonder if there is any way to track pilots involved in accidents to see how experienced (on average) their CFIs were compared to the overall pilot population...:idea:

My CFI for my private was about 5 years older than me. I was 20 so that would put him around 25. I was happy with the instruction I got from him. In fact I still keep in touch with him many years later. Personally, when I was young I had the tendency to relate better with people who were slightly older than me but not generations older than me so I probably gravitated toward younger CFIs.

Mine was young, but committed and very professional. Took me through my private and IA, was completely in love with flight, wanted nothing but the best performance. DPE said, "that Ted always sends me well-prepared candidates."

He flies for Delta now, and they are lucky to have him.

I've experienced a combination of CFIs, some who are simply wishing they could parachute out of CFI hell into the airlines ASAP and are happy to be a gum chewing cell phone chatting hung over malcontent until then, and consummate professionals. Age was not a factor with either group.

My primary and instrument instructor (same guy) was about 8 years older than me. He was in the Air Guard and he brought that style of teaching which worked really well with my young butt. I looked up to him as a mentor because of his knowledge and experience.