How often do you update your maps?

linuxjim

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
JJ
I have a 430w and 396. I am VFR. I got the plane last year. I realized recently when one of the airports I fly to changed identifiers that I need to update my databases. What product do you use? Do you get the one time update or subscription? How often do you apply updates

I will be looking into IFR next year. Are there currency requirements when I go from VFR to IFR? Thanks.

Update the 430 with a subscription,for the 496 do single updates before major trips or sun n fun

I have a 430w and 396. I am VFR. I got the plane last year. I realized recently when one of the airports I fly to changed identifiers that I need to update my databases. What product do you use? Do you get the one time update or subscription? How often do you apply updates

I will be looking into IFR next year. Are there currency requirements when I go from VFR to IFR? Thanks.

I have a subscription, but I'm IFR, well sometimes.

As for you just find someone who knows a little about computers and has a subscription for a 430 or 530 and just copy double dip a update.

For VFR stuff shy of identifies changing it's really not a big deal.

Whenever ForeFlight updates them for me on the iPad.

Since I'm getting my instrument rating, I subscribed to the 430's nav database updates. But only for the region I'm likely to fly in (eastern half, I think?)

It's trivial to update the database on the tablets, so I never hesitate there.

And, honestly, it's nice to know the database in the plane is up to date. Especially for frequencies, since it's so easy to flip to the freqs page, cast the magic knobology spell and have it show up in the standby area of comm1.

Annually, unless I'm looking at an IFR flight, then I do it before I leave. I use one times.

For me, it is different for the panel and Foreflight.