How long between "layoffs"

Rob Schaffer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
CLR2TKF
Well, it's been a busy year at my home and I havn't been able to commit to a club or even fly as often as I definitely would have liked. Last three years, I was a 50hr/year pilot, which is where my budget floated for my flying. Enter a 3rd daughter last year and the need to renovate on the house this year to get my twin daughters into the 3rd floor as a bedroom, and my flying hours went down the crapper.

Three flights this year (all with CFI's), March 4th in a C172SP, May 12th in a Citabria, ..... and then a long summer of doing construction on my home. Yesterday, I was able to break away and get some time to fly once again and the weather finally cooperated (after 3 weeks of consecutive weather cancellations).

Surprisingly, it all came back rather quickly for being since March in the C172. In preparation though, I did review the checklists/ POH / and sat in front of a cockpit poster going thru the routine and location of items. New CFI, and away we climbed to the practice area. Slow flight, Clearing turns, Stalls, Steep turns right and then left right after one another, then engine out, and back to the airport for different types of TO/Landings. My GPS track was pretty good too.

Felt great to be back flying again and I hope to be more 'regular' now for the remainder of this year.

So how long have you had to layoff from flying and how was it when you returned?

Attachments

• airwork.JPG
    airwork.JPG
    216.5 KB · Views: 22
  • pattern.JPG
    pattern.JPG
    249 KB · Views: 21
i think my longest layoff has been ~month once or twice when i've spent most of that time travelling to see family over christmas time.

Yeah, I've been off for a month or two at most, usually due to wx. I suck when I get back in, too. It's a bit different when you own an airplane. Gotta fly it.

Last edited: