How frequently should a plane fly?

gprellwitz

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Grant Prellwitz
Okay, we're going to be caring for a friend's plane by exercising it regularly. But we're still paying for fuel and oil, winter is coming up, and we have jobs! While we'd love to fly daily, it just ain't going to happen.

Is there a minimum amount a plane should be flown to help prevent deterioration? It's a high performance, non-complex single. I've been told that just running the engine on the ground is bad, because it doesn't heat up enough. I'd also expect the same would be true for just pattern work. I guess my starting point would be 60 minutes at >= 55% power weekly. Overkill? Not enough? Would semi-weekly be sufficient? (Wx in the winter can be a real problem.)

Fly it long enough for oil to reach its operating temp but don't forget to lean it

I'm no expert, but at my FBO, if a plane didn't fly for a week, our MX guys would approve an hour on it. They didn't specify pattern vs. XC, but I always took it away from home. But yeah, up to normal operating temp for a few minutes should be sufficient.

Once a week long enough to get the oil temp. Up.

It looks like you already know the answer, Grant. About an hour a week. Not just for the engine, but also for the avionics and to blow out any water in the wings/fuselage.

I don't have scientific data to back up my regimen, but I use 30+ flight minutes minimum every 2 weeks. Yes, it's usually more than that. I use a bit of Camguard, for what it's worth.

Lycoming says to fly their engines so they get up to 165F oil temp for at least 30 minutes at least ever 30 days, and probably better at least every ten days to two weeks. Note that you can't get the oil that hot for that long by ground running without cooking the cylinders.