How does a DME work when used with an ILS/Loc Approach?

ajstoner21

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew
(I am an instrument student. Am not instrument rated yet)

This is probably a very typical approach, however, I have not seen an ILS with a DME before. The airport I typically fly from does not use DME and the airplane I fly most does not have DME.

Its a little confusing to me. I am used to seeing Outer Marker beacons and Middle Marker beacons, however, on the "ILS or LOC/DME RW 34" into Arlington Municipal (GKY) threw me a curve ball haha.

Can someone explain this approach to me? How do you identify the missed approach point for the Loc/DME?

DME is only required for the localizer approach correct? If that is true, how do you tell the tower where you are if you do not have DME? For example, I'm used to telling the tower that I'm over the outer marker.

I know that when DME is listed in the title, its required for the approach, but is it required for the ILS when its in the "or LOC" part?

Last edited:
The DME works automatically when you enter in the ILS freq.
You identify the missed approach point by looking where the bold line turns into a dashed line in profile or plan view on the approach plate. For example, ILS 31 in DSM
the missed approach point is at MM or 0.6 dme from the end of the runway.
Some Loc approached have a OM, Locater Marker, Vor radial fix etc.... my understanding that DME not required unless its says so with some exceptions.

Last edited:
Many DME recievers can be slaved to NAV 1 or NAV 2 or operate independently.

Las Vegas ILS Rwy 25L, The DME portion of the approach is from the VORTAC, so you need to tune your ILS Receiver (normally NAV 1) to the ILS Freq and tune your DME receiver or NAV 2) to the VORTAC for the DME portion and slave the DME to NAV 2.

Las Vegas ILS Rwy 1L, the DME is on the ILS freq, so tune NAV1 to the ILS and slave the DME to NAV 1. Put LAS VORTAC in NAV 2 for back up.