How can it be fixed...

mchesney

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Mike
The problem with general aviation as I see it is mostly based on cost. I'm a VERY new pilot but it took me 8 years of on/off training to get here with cost being one of the issues it took so long. I absolutely love flying...in fact, I fly in helicopters as my day job ( I don't fly them...just in them). I make a pretty good living out of it too but I still can't afford to fly regularly and certainly not as much as I'd like. I know there are cheaper options than renting, such as clubs, but it's still a lot of money. If I could wave a magic wand, I'd make new airplanes the cost of new cars...with similar upkeep costs. Imagine how that would change GA. Will it ever be possible for people like me to own a new aircraft, with the lastest and greatest safety features instead of hunting through 50 year old aircraft, that look like crap, for something semi-affordable to fly?:dunno::mad2:

Don't hold your breath. LSA was supposed to bring affordable airplanes to the masses, and you're still looking at over $100,000 for a new plane. Look into clubs. You may be surprised to see how affordable they can be.

Go Experimental!
Hangar neighbor just sold a beautiful RV for $50,000. Not much more than a lot of cars these days and waaaaaay more fun. 190 mph on 8 gph. That's almost 24 MPG, how can ya beat that?
You can get fast planes cheaper than that but the RV is holding to high values. A friend bought a canard for 28K and does 190 on 7 gph. Some actually do much better.
Lots of options if you don't need to go so fast....(?)

labor costs are high. certification requirements result in a very durable product. neither of these help purchase price of a factory built plane.

Certification costs are one thing - although there is progress there on the FAA side.

Liability costs are another - and those ain't coming down.

Certification costs are one thing - although there is progress there on the FAA side.