Hidden Treasure - Help me identify this biplane

TangoWhiskey

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
3Green
I recently had my kitchen remodeled; the contractor came by earlier this week to do some final touch up work, and knowing I was a pilot told me about this other project he'd just finished, and the unfinished homebuilt biplane this lady has stored in her basement and garage. Her now-deceased husband, a master woodworker and American Airlines mechanic, had built all four wings and welded up the fuselage, tail feathers and landing gear. She is finally ready to 'let the project go' (it reminded her of her husband), and was about to list it on CraigsList when he convinced her to wait til he spoke with me.

I went over to view it Friday night, and it turns out I know the lady from another context, so I have a good shot at getting this project, if it's something I wish to pursue. Problem is, the plans are buried somewhere in the garage, and I can't tell at first glance what it is we have here... any ideas, looking at the pictures posted below? She showed me some small photos where he had it fully assembled in the yard (engine is no longer with the project or included, he disposed of it some time ago). From the cars in the background, I bet we can date the project, too. What would be a reasonable starting offer?

https://picasaweb.google.com/troy.whistman/HiddenTreasure?authkey=Gv1sRgCNrLz4TumYzNUg#

I went over to view it Friday night, and it turns out I know the lady from another context, so I have a good shot at getting this project, if it's something I wish to pursue. Problem is, the plans are buried somewhere in the garage, and I can't tell at first glance what it is we have here... any ideas, looking at the pictures posted below?https://picasaweb.google.com/troy.whistman/HiddenTreasure?authkey=Gv1sRgCNrLz4TumYzNUg#

Looks like it could be a Pitts.