Hi (first post)

LoLPilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
LoLPilot
Hi everyone! I am new here but I used to be flatlander88 on the student pilot forum. I can't find it anymore so I assum it is now defunct.

I'm taking my private pilot checkride on July 24. This has been 3 years in the making. I'm a full time graduate student and I had to take a full year off due to some financial problems. I have two big questions: any recent PPL checkride grads here who have any tips they would like to offer up?

Second, I am unsure what exactly to do after I finish my PPL. I want to get my tailwheel endorsement but after that I'm not sure what the best way to go about flying is. I do not want to be a career pilot. Eventually I'd like to get my commercial just so I can do things like banner rows and photography flights because those look fun, but I only want to fly for enjoyment. I know that at the $130 it costs to rent the kinds of 172's I've been training in around me I will not be able to get my 50-100 hours a year that seems to be a magic number for proficiency. I've thought of joining a club, though that doesn't really make a big dent in rental costs it seems and then you also have the dues. I've thought of buying something like a Champ or Colt, renting a small t-hangar and then trying to offset some of the costs by allowing an FBO to rent it as a VFR only plane. I would not expect to recover all costs but I think such an arrangement might make that a realistic option. My typical mission would be me, myself and I flying to an oddball small airport near me. I am within a Class B operational area and I'd like to fly at night so I need the electrical system for lights and a transponder. I have no delusions about flying myself to destinations that I need to be at. I think something old and simple like that would present low enough insurance, fuel, maintenance and annual costs to make it doable.