Help finding info from an old GA crash...

Hobobiker

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hobo
Okay, sounds odd I know, but my dad crashed with some friends in a GA aircraft sometime in the very early 70's. He was sitting right seat but was only a passenger. I can't find the old newspaper article we used to have, and most involved (including my dad) aren't around anymore to ask the details. As a student pilot I would love to find out as much as I can about the accident. All I know is that everyone survived, I visited my dad in the hospital when I was very young, and that it was likely a Cessna. I'm told they took off from Mishawaka Pilot's Club (3C1), but I'm not finding anything in the NTSB databases and would love to know the 'cause'. Sounds to me like the VFR pilot ran into some clouds/fog/rain/something and down they went. Going to try the newspaper that covered the story as well.

Just thought I'd throw it out to see if anyone more experienced could help me navigate through the archives...

May have found it. Sorry it didn't paste well.

But a student with passengers??? Maybe things were different back then...

NTSB Identification: CHI72FET18
14 CFR Part 91 General Aviation
Aircraft: CESSNA 172, registration: N5632A
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FILE DATE LOCATION AIRCRAFT DATA INJURIES FLIGHT PILOT DATA
F S M/N PURPOSE
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
3-1382 72/3/12 ELKHART,IND CESSNA 172 CR- 0 1 0 NONCOMMERCIAL STUDENT, AGE 42, 38 TOTAL
TIME - 0845 N5632A PX- 0 2 1 PLEASURE/PERSONAL TRANSP HOURS, ALL IN TYPE, NOT
DAMAGE-DESTROYED OT- 0 0 0 INSTRUMENT RATED.
NAME OF AIRPORT - MISHAWAKA PILOTS
DEPARTURE POINT INTENDED DESTINATION
ELKHART,IND LOCAL
TYPE OF ACCIDENT PHASE OF OPERATION
COLLISION WITH GROUND/WATER: UNCONTROLLED IN FLIGHT: UNCONTROLLED DESCENT