Hello - and a question

GeierFlyer

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
GeierFlyer
First the "Hello": I have been following "Pilots of America" for a while, but only registered now. I'm a private pilot, member of a flying club in Connecticut. No ambitions for flying other than poking holes in the sky.

Now the question: Our flying club is considering rules for the compensation of club officers. We have been soliciting advice from other clubs, but so far, no clear picture has emerged. So, those of you who are in a flying club: Does your club offer compensation for club officers? If so, for whom -- president, treasurer, secretary, plane captains...? How much? How do you ensure the taxman is ok with this?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

First the "Hello": I have been following "Pilots of America" for a while, but only registered now. I'm a private pilot, member of a flying club in Connecticut. No ambitions for flying other than poking holes in the sky.

Now the question: Our flying club is considering rules for the compensation of club officers. We have been soliciting advice from other clubs, but so far, no clear picture has emerged. So, those of you who are in a flying club: Does your club offer compensation for club officers? If so, for whom -- president, treasurer, secretary, plane captains...? How much? How do you ensure the taxman is ok with this?

The Westchester Flying Club, located at KHPN, has been in business since the 1960s. The management is all volunteer with no direct compensation to them at all.

www.wfc-hpn.org

-Skip

Our flying club officers use to get half dues but then we fell onto hard times. So the officers/board members decided they'd start to pay full dues (no compensation). It's fair but then there is no reason for someone new to come into the mix.

Not sure of tax implications.