Hearing Aid

Terry

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Terry
Hi All,

Would wearing a hearing aid affect my class 3 medical?

I am getting older, 64, and my hearing is not as good as it used to be. I just passed my medical in October, and with no problems. I basically hear okay but I notice I need to be facing my wife to hear normal conservation and have to ask for things to be repeated.

Thanks,
Terry

Say again all after "uhhh"?

Hi All,

Would wearing a hearing aid affect my class 3 medical?

I am getting older, 64, and my hearing is not as good as it used to be. I just passed my medical in October, and with no problems. I basically hear okay but I notice I need to be facing my wife to hear normal conservation and have to ask for things to be repeated.

Thanks,
Terry

Terry,

I'm no expert on this topic by any means but the guy who taught me to fly was in his '70s and had hearing aids. So, I'd speculate that the answer is no...it won't have a negative effect on your class 3 medical.

Terry, we certify you in whatever configuration you have to be in to pass the 8500-8 3rd class exam. "Must wear hearing amplification" is a common restriction on medical certificates. After all, we are all getting old. Sigh.

Terry, we certify you in whatever configuration you have to be in to pass the 8500-8 3rd class exam. "Must wear hearing amplification" is a common restriction on medical certificates. After all, we are all getting old. Sigh.

JOOC, does a headset connected to an intercom and radio with volume controls qualify as "hearing amplification"? If not, why not?

Doc, would a headset be considered hearing amplification by the FAA?

It does qualify. We can even specify that. However it's really poor. What you need for speech recognition is more high frequency amplification than midrange, and even Bose sucks at that.

Last edited: