Hartzell vs. MT propeller on C172 O-360

cba320

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Clint Bruton
Hello, I am new to this forum and was hoping to get some ‘expert’ input. I’ve been a professional pilot for many years, but have never owned an airplane until very recently.

I now have a 1958 C172 with a Penn Yan O-360-A1A conversion. The airplane currently has a Hartzell C2YK 76” prop that is affected by AD 2009 22 03.

I’m looking to get out of this AD problem. I’ve been considering a later model (non-AD), low-time used Hartzell C2YK 76” prop or a low-time used MT MTV-15-B/205-58.

I’d love to test fly an MT, but don’t have access to an airplane with one installed. I am hoping that any of you that have switched from the Hartzell to the MT would share your experiences.

Is the MT really worth the extra expense?
Is there really that drastic of a difference flying the MT?
How does the stainless leading edge hold up?
ANY comments on the MT vs. Hartzell are welcome.

An additional concern of mine: I like to occasionally operate on gravel. The current Hartzell prop is 76”. The MT is 80” and (as I understand it) can be trimmed to 78”---though I'd hate to have to trim that beautiful prop! Has anyone here used a prop that is > 76” on a C172? Will reducing my prop clearance by 2” have a big effect on how much FOD I pick up.

Thank you in advance for any info you can pass along!

Is the MT really worth the extra expense?
Is there really that drastic of a difference flying the MT?
How does the stainless leading edge hold up?
ANY comments on the MT vs. Hartzell are welcome.

An additional concern of mine: I like to occasionally operate on gravel. The current Hartzell prop is 76”. The MT is 80” and (as I understand it) can be trimmed to 78”---though I'd hate to have to trim that beautiful prop! Has anyone here used a prop that is > 76” on a C172? Will reducing my prop clearance by 2” have a big effect on how much FOD I pick up.