Got struck by lightning

Inverted

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Inverted
Was a bad strike. Blinded my FO and I for a good 10 seconds. The bang had our ears ringing the rest of the night. Huge glow and smell in the cockpit so I diverted. Fun times!

18g9s3.jpg

2yjq1si.jpg

The track
rkwlqh.png

Last edited:
As a new pilot I was wondering. did the strike affect any of the instruments. With the bright burst of light, how did you get your vision to adjust to the dark again.
I am facinated by this and wonder what I would do in a small plane (172/182) if I was struck.
Thanks

I have been close, very close to lightning a bunch of times, just comes with the territory. I have also had friends get struck and not know it. When I was hit, I thought the plane had exploded. I legitimately thought the nose was gone and we were on fire. I am guessing now the extended flash in front (about 3-5 seconds) was St. elmos fire. The jolt from the hit disabled the autopilot and smacked the airplane into a dive and bank, not horrible but if we had onboard telemetry I would guess it slowed the airplane down 30 kts for a second, it threw us forward into the dash. Once we got our eyesight back after about 10 seconds we started to assess the damage. We were IMC so having the eyesight adjust back to the lighting conditions wasn't the biggest deal ever, at least I dont remember it being so.

I do remember 3 distinct flashes. The initial lightning hit, then a very pronounced eye-blinding glow outside, as well as a flash inside the cockpit. Still not sure if we lost anything in the cockpit as what I needed at the time still worked. But the associated smell inside leads me to believe that something got zapped.