GoPro Strut Mount for Cessna's

Addicted2climbing

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Addicted2climbing
Hello all,

My name is Marc Webster and I am a student pilot flying a Cessna 172N. In 2007, I designed a Camera mount for my Gopro to mount to the tubing of my Hanglider and had great results. When I decided to pursue my PPL, I modified the design to work with all 3 common sizes of Cessna Struts. I have been testing this mount for a little over 2 years on various strutted GA aircraft and have had this mount up to 160kts without any issues. The mount can be configured into two different configurations; one version for wing struts and one for tubular structures between 1.2" and 3" diameters. In the Tubular configuration the mount is used without the tail piece and can be configured back and forth easily. In its tubular configuration, I have used it on the following: Hanglider, Go Cart Roll Bar, Race Car Roll Bar, Sailboat mast, ATV Roll Bar, Wakeboard Boat Tower, Mountain Bike head tube, Handrail on stairs for skateboarders, Ski lift chair and movie rigging scaffolding.

In the strut configuration, by having the front and tail piece separate it can work with struts of multiple chord length and thickness so long as the leading edge contacts the rubber portion of the front and the rear contacts the tangent point of the strut before the trailing edge bottoms out in the rear tail piece. Both main parts are 6061-T6 aluminum made from custom extrusion I had made to my drawings. The aluminum parts are machined on a CNC machine and are made in the USA. The Custom Straps are made in USA from material made in the USA. The camera is attached to the mount with a professional quality Ball mount thus eliminating all the plastic Gopro arms.