Glass cockpit vs steam gauges

jordane93

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Jordan
which do you guys prefer. ive always been a fan of steam gauges. i started out my training in steam gauges and i feel like im a better pilot. i never really go into all the fancy avidyne suite or garmin perspective. all that stuff is cool but i like all the old school stuff. i feel as though students do not learn as much if they had glass training. its all about fundamentals and i think you get the best learning experience from steam gauges. Yes we are in a world where if you want to be an airline pilot, 99% of those planes will have a glass cockpit, but those guys all learned the old school way which i like. I guess i get it from my father, he's flown the dc 9 for 10 years and was a check airman for delta/northwest. a few years ago he moved onto the 747 and currently the 767. he said it was totally new to him and a lot of guys were able to transition easier because they had a glass cockpit in their other planes. What do you guys think?

I like both for different reasons. I've had students ask that same question. Usually what I tell them is get one rating in one type and one in the other. If I had to pick, I'd probably still lean towards conventional for private and glass for the instrument. Most aircraft available for rent are conventional but if you plan to go professional, it's good to have experience in the glass. I didn't get any of my primary training in glass. The first experience I had with it was after 2 hours of training I was expected to teach in a G1000. Thankfully because of that teaching while learning experience, I was able to transition into the Citation Mustang with little effort.

Have both in my airplane.like the glass now that I am comfortable with it.

No preference, really, since the choice of avionics isn't really going to affect the flight characteristics of the aircraft.