Getting Discouraged and Too Hard on Myself

Pilotl1234

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
L.
I have been a student pilot for two years now (I had setbacks and I'm in college, so that took up a lot of time as well) and I am about to take my checkride soon. I haven't flown for a couple weeks, and I went out with my CFI to "get back in the saddle"/prepare for my checkride. When I went out, I messed up (almost) everything, so I was criticized by my CFI a lot. I love flying, and I want to be good at it, but sometimes I feel like I cannot get the hang of it. Then, because of this, I am extremely hard on myself, and get discouraged. Does anyone have any advice for me? I would greatly appreciate it.

First off, give yourself a break. You're over-thinking it, I suspect.

You might try a flight with another CFI just for fun; and, you should just go out solo and do some fun flying.

Then, when the time comes for the check ride, follow our own Cap'n Ron Levy's Checkride Advice. It is magic, and has worked for dozens - no, for hundreds - of pilot candidates.

---

Sticky: http://www.pilotsofamerica.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15706

---

Cap'n Ron Levy said:
1. Relax and enjoy it. Nationwide, about 90% of applicants pass on the first try, so look around and see if you think you’re as good as 9 out of 10 other students. Also, your instructor must maintain a pass rate of at least 80% to get his ticket renewed, so he’s not going to send you up unless he’s pretty darn sure you’ll pass – otherwise, he has to find four other people to pass to make up for you, and that’s not always easy.