G1000 technical info

skidoo

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
skidoo
I seem to be having an issue with a "Nav1 needs repair" alert. Sometimes I get it and sometimes it is fine. I had thought that it may be related to being within line of sight of a VOR station. But, since my annual, it always alerts. So, I am thinking it may be a bad connection, perhaps disturbed during inspection. If that was the case, I can fix it.

I am an electrical engineer, and was an avionics tech in the military many moons ago. Back then, all electrical documentation was available and things were easy to diagnose.

So, I am wondering is, can I obtain maintenance documentation from Garmin, that is sufficient to diagnose and repair such wiring or interconnection problems? I have the Cessna electrical interconnection schematics. But, I would like some functional descriptions, i.e. what sensors or conditions trigger a particular alert, etc... Even better would be electrical diagrams and technical info for repairing the modules... What documentation does the repair techs at the avionics shop use?

Installation manuals are not hard to find. A google on e.g.

g1000 installation manual

should find what you need, eventually :)

Maintenance manuals (the ones with schematics) are virtually nonexistent for Garmin stuff, however. You can find them for Honeywell stuff and I have a big collection of all this stuff.

Even better would be electrical diagrams and technical info for repairing the modules... What documentation does the repair techs at the avionics shop use?
Probably none. The G1000 system is marketed as being made of Line Replaceable Units. I would hazard to guess that the techs just pull them and ship them back to Garmin, who probably just destroys them, unless they need to determine the failure cause. This is all my guess, though.